Cristian Prisacariumy symbol
master topics
The first female mathematician to receive the prestigious Fields Medal is Maryam Mirzakhani from Stanford University. Mirzakhani said: "I will be happy if it encourages young female scientists and mathematicians. I am sure there will be many more women winning this kind of award in coming years." Mirzakhani was born and raised in Tehran, where as a young girl she dreamed of becoming a writer. By high school, however, her affinity for solving mathematical problems and working on proofs had shifted her sights.

The Kavli Week is celebrating the Kavli Prize with Ceremony Show, Popular science lectures, and academic symposia and lectures by the prize winners. A lot of money are involved, partly sponsored by the Fred Kavli Foundation.

Heidelberg Laureate Forum - Abel, Fields and Turing Laureates Meet the Next Generation. Winners of the prestigious Abel Prize, Fields Medal and Turing Award will meet ambitious young scientists starting with 23-27 September 2013.

The Abel Prize in mathematics (with value ~1Mil $) is given this year on 22 May 2012 to Endre Szemeredi, a Hungarian mathematician who worked, among other, in the fields of combinatorics and theoretical computer science.

DEON 2012 - 11th International Conference on Deontic Logic in Computer Science, is held during 16-18 July 2012, at University of Bergen, Norway. Submission deadline is 5 March.

Noam Chomsky in Oslo, two days on 5-6 September, 2011. Come on 5th from 16:15-18 in Sophus Lies auditorium in Blindern campus to hear "The machine, the ghost, and the limits of understanding: Newtons contributions to the study of mind"; and on 6th from 19:00 in Storsalen (the big room) in Chateau Neuf right near Majorstuen T-station to hear about "Changing contours of world order".


The Formal Methods Seminar with course code INF5160 or INF9160 takes place each semester. One may check the detailed plan of the presentations.
Time and place: Fridays from 13:15 on the 8th floor of Ole-Johan Dahl building. (each semester)

The course Specification and verification of parallel systems with code INF5140 or INF9140 takes place once every two years. One may check the last detailed teaching plan of 2011. Check also the english version. The course uses the SPIN model checker and its affiliate book as well as the new book of Katoen and Baier called "Principles of Model Checking" which should be available at the IFI library.
Time and place: spring of 2013, on the 8th floor of Ole-Johan Dahl building.

Made with Nvu
©2009 The content of this web site are licenced under the
The condition is to put a visible link to this web site.
Creative Commons License