Welcome to

Jon Storm-Mathisen’s Homepage

 

 

Photo: Olav Olsen, in Aftenposten 16.01.2001

 

Jon Storm-Mathisen MD PhD

Professor

Centre for Molecular Biology and Neuroscience (CMBN)

&

Department of Anatomy, Institute of Basic Medical Sciences (IMB)

University of Oslo

POBox 1105 Blindern

N-0317 Oslo, Norway

 

Visit:  Domus Medica, Room 1296, Sognsvannsveien 9, Oslo (map)

Phone:  +47 22851258  (+47 22151533 home,  +47 97193044 mobile)

Fax:    +47 22851278

Email:  jonsm@medisin.uio.no

 

 

Research group

Synaptic neurochemistry laboratory
- synthesis, recycling, packaging, and action of transmitter amino acids

 

Jon Storm-Mathisen Group Leader, Professor jon.storm-mathisen@medisin.uio.no

Linda H. Bergersen Senior Researcher l.h.bergersen@medisin.uio.no

Vidar Gundersen Senior Researcher, Overlege Rikshospitalet vidar.gundersen@medisin.uio.no

Max D. Larsson Postdoc m.d.larsson@medisin.uio.no

Runhild Gammelsæter Postdoc (associated) runhild.gammelsater@medisin.uio.no

Cecilie Morland PhD Student cecile.morland@medisin.uio.no

Simen Gylterud Owe PhD Student simen.gylterud@medisin.uio.no

Johanne Egge Rinholm PhD Student j.e.rinholm@medisin.uio.no

Tirill Medin PhD Student tirill.medin@medisin.uio.no

Aleksander T. Holten Forskerlinje Student a.t.holten@studmed.uio.no

Ray Miyalou Koussou Master Student University of Evry (France) rukousso@medisin.uio.no

Lars Krogh Berg Forskerlinje Student larskbe@studmed.uio.no

Kaja Nordengen Student kaja.nordengen@studmed.uio.no

Tine Jeanette Johansen Master Student tinejean@stud.ntnu.no

Anna Torbjørg Bore Senior Engineer a.t.bore@medisin.uio.no

 

Associated Biotek group

Farrukh A. Chaudhry Group Leader Biotek, Professor II f.a.chaudhry@biotek.uio.no

Jean-Luc Boulland Postdoc j.l.boulland@biotek.uio.no

Abrar Z. Quazi Forskerlinje Student a.z.quazi@studmed.uio.no

Nuriye Basdag Master Student nour_no@hotmail.com

Gauhar Ayub Chaudhry Technician g.a.chaudhry@medisin.uio.no

and others, mainly based at Biotek

 

 

 

Some research achievements: http://folk.uio.no/jonsm/The-glutamatergic-synapse_Synaptic-neurochem-lab-contr.htm

 

Publications by group members (PubMed):

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=PubMed&term=Storm-Mathisen-J[auth]|(bergersen-l%20NOT%20USA[Affiliation]%20NOT%20bergersen-l*[auth])|bergersen-lh[auth]|owe-sg[auth]|(gundersen-v%20NOT%20Sport[Affiliation]%20NOT%20Denmark[Affiliation]%20NOT%20Danish[Language])|(Chaudhry-FA[auth]%20AND%20(Norway[affil]|Edwards-RH[auth]))

 

Additional publications (with names misspelled in PubMed):

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=PubMed&term=Storm-Mathiesen-J[auth]|(mathisen-js%20AND%20(blackstad-tw%20OR%20mellgren-si%20OR%20flood-pr%20OR%20kanner-bi))|(bergersen-h[auth]%20AND%20jensen-j[auth])|strom-mathisen-j[auth]

 

 

 

Invitation to medial and science students to join us:

Ledige studentprosjekt / Vacant student research projects

Examples

Veileder FA Chaudhry / J Storm-Mathisen: Studenter / stipendiater søkes til hjerneforskning

Veileder V Gundersen / J Storm-Mathisen: Aspartat, en eksitatorisk ko-transmitter?

Tailored projects available, please contact Bergersen (22851496), Chaudhry (22840565; 22851255), Gundersen (22851496), and/or Storm-Mathisen (22851258)

 

 

‘Highly Cited Researcher’: J Storm-Mathisen is included in the ISI Highly Cited Database

“-These individuals are the most highly cited within each category --, and comprise less than one-half of one percent of all publishing researchers -“

 

 

Awards to Jon Storm-Mathisen: Voss' Award for Anatomical Research 1981. Monrad Krohn's Prize for the Advancement of Neurological Research 1989. Elected to the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters 1993. Fridtjof Nansen’s Award 2001. University of Oslo Research Prize 2004. Lundbeckfonden’s Nordic Researcher Prize 2005 (shared with OP Ottersen). The Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters 2005. Anders Jahre’s Award for Medical Research 2006.

 

 

 

Centre of Excellence: The Centre for Molecular Biology and Neuroscience (CMBN)

                                                                                                              

                                                                                                              http://www.cmbn.no/

Consortium (Principal Investigators)

Neuroscience: JG Bjaalie, NC Danbolt, OP Ottersen (coordinator), JF Storm, J Storm-Mathisen

Molecular biology: M Bjørås, A Klungland, M Koomey, S Krauss, T Rognum, T Tønjum (vice-coordinator)

Annual report 2006

http://www.cmbn.no/img/CMBN-annual-report-2006.pdf

Publications à 2002

CoEMBN\SFFMBNpublications.htm

CoEMBN\SFFMBNpublications.rtf

‘Highly Cited Researchers’

Ottersen and  Storm-Mathisen are included in the ISI Highly Cited Database

 

 

NFR MH-Group: Mechanisms of neuronal communication

Consortium (Principal Investigators)

NC Danbolt, S Krauss, OP Ottersen (coordinator), JF Storm, J Storm-Mathisen

 

 

EU Marie Curie Training Site on: Basic mechanisms of amino acid neurotransmission

Acronym: BAMAN

Contract: HPMT-CT-2001-00406

http://folk.uio.no/jonsm/baman.htm 

Faculty: The research group consists of the following principal investigators (PIs) who are all full professors and partners in the Centre for Molecular Biology and Neuroscience: Jan G. Bjålie, Niels Christian Danbolt, Ole Petter Ottersen, Johan F. Storm and Jon Storm-Mathisen at IMBA, and Stefan Krauss at Rikshospitalet. Junior group members, many of whom have several years of experience as postdoctoral researchers, will contribute to the training. In addition, the following professors, who do related research partly collaborating with the group and are all located at IMBA, may act as supervisors for fellows at the Training Site: Per A. Brodal, Joel C. Glover, Finn-Mogens S. Haug, Paul Heggelund, Terje Lømo, Sven Ivar Walaas.

Core project:  http://improving.cordis.lu/mc/show-PRJ.cfm?obj_id=MCFellow0000000000004012

Vacancies:  http://improving.cordis.lu/mc/show-VAC.cfm?obj_id=MCFellow000000000000457D

Coordinator: Jon Storm-Mathisen

 

 

EU RTD project: Dynamics of extracellular glutamate

Acronym: DECG

Contract: QLG3-CT-2001-02004

http://folk.uio.no/jonsm/decg.htm

Participants:                       

Partner #1:             Prof. Jon Storm-Mathisen (jonsm@pons.uio.no)

                                Department of Anatomy, Institute of Basic Medical Science, University of Oslo

Partner #2:             Prof. David Attwell (d.attwell@ucl.ac.uk)

                                Dept Physiology, University College London, London, England

Partner #3:             Prof. Dimitri Kullmann (d.kullmann@ion.ucl.ac.uk)

                                Institute of Neurology, University College London, London, England

Partner #4:             Prof. Andrea Volterra  (andrea.volterra@ibcm.unil.ch)

                                Université de Lausanne Faculté de Médecine, Lausanne, Switzerland

Partner #5:             Dr. Fabio Grohovaz (grohovaz.fabio@hsr.it)

                                DIBIT – Fondazione Centro San Raffaele del Monte Tabor, Milan, Italy

Partner #6:             Prof. Robert Zorec (robert.zorec@pafi.mf.uni-lj.si)

                                “Celica” Biomedical Sciences Center, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Co-ordinator:       Jon Storm-Mathisen

 

 

 

The present page is currently under construction

Last updated 2007 by Jon Storm-Mathisen