SUMUniversity of OsloHome

home > denmark > national authorities



Denmark news
National strategies
National policies
The Government
The Parliament
Local authorities
Private sector
Civil society


Nordic Council

Compare countries

About SusNordic
Contact info
News archive
Further reading
Site map


National authorities in Denmark

Denmark is a constitutional monarchy. Legislative power is vested in the Folketing, which is elected by proportional representation, normally at four-year intervals.

Executive power is exercised by a Cabinet, presently of 18 members, which must enjoy the confidence of the Folketing. However, most Danish Governments of the past century, including the present one, have been minority governments, depending on the support of one or more parties not actually represented in the Cabinet.

Like Norway and Iceland, but unlike Sweden or Finland, Denmark has a "ministerial" form of government, which means that Government agencies are more directly subject to instruction by individual Ministers.

Use the menu options to read more about the Government and its agencies with responsibility for environment and energy issues, or about the Danish Parliament.

[Last updated: 20.10.2008]