Demography was established at the University of Oslo in 1994. It is located in the Department of Economics, but the courses are meant to serve the needs and interests of students in all social sciences, as well as those at other faculties. Starting in the fall of 2003, four courses of 10 credit points each will be given annually. The staff also assist in the supervision of students who write demographically oriented theses as part of the requirements for a Master's degree at the University of Oslo.

There are currently two post-doctoral fellows: Kåre Bævre , Svenn-Erik Mamelund

and one doctoral student: Torkild Lyngstad. Five others are supported by the demography program of the

Norwegian Research Council: Henrik Urdal, Hans-Henrik Bull, Trude Lappegård, Jørgen Carling
Permanent staff: Professors Nico Keilman and Øystein Kravdal