Topology Symposium
Thorbjørnrud, May 21st-23rd 2008

In connection with national project in Topology sponsored by NFR, there will be a symposium at Thorbjørnrud near Oslo from the evening of Wednesday May 21st to the afternoon of Friday May 23rd. Its primary purpose is to bring together topologists in Norway, from the Master student level and upwards, for constructive interaction.

We plan to go by bus from the Department of Mathematics, University of Oslo, Moltke Moes vei 35 at 17:00 on Wednesday May 21st, after the Abel Prize Lectures end. There will be dinner at Thorbjørnrud, followed by a full day of lectures on Thursday May 22nd, and half a day of lectures on Friday May 23rd. We return by bus after lunch, to the Majorstuen T-bane stop, Valkyriegaten 19, arriving Friday at 15:30. Alternatively, you may wish to go directly to Gardermoen or Hønefoss.


Wednesday, May 21st

Departure from the Department of Mathematics
Estimated arrival time at Thorbjørnrud
19:00 - 20:00

Thursday, May 22nd

07:00 - 08:30
09:00 - 10:00
Bjørn I. Dundas (UiB): Higher Topological Cyclic Homology
10:10 - 10:40
Marius Thaule (NTNU): The Category of Open Strings
10:50 - 11:10
Coffee break
11:10 - 12:10
John R. Klein (Wayne State): Fiber Bundle Lifts and Algebraic K-theory
12:20 - 12:50
Thorleif Veen (UiB): Forslag til klassifiserende rom for 2-vektorbunter med holonomi
13:00 - 14:00
15:00 - 16:00
Tore A. Kro (NTNU): Stratified Spaces
16:15 - 16:45
Knut Berg (UiO): Edgewise Subdivision and Simple Maps
17:00 - 17:30
Coffee break
17:30 - 18:30
Marcel Bökstedt (Aarhus/UiO): E_6 and the Kervaire invariant
19:00 - 20:00
Festive Dinner

Friday, May 23rd

07:00 - 08:30
09:00 - 10:00
Robert R. Bruner (Wayne State/UiO): What We Don't Know about CP
10:15 - 11:15
Steffen Sagave (UiO): Derived A-infinity algebras and E_2-resolutions of DG-algebras
11:30 - 11:45
Coffee break
11:45 - 12:45
Andrew Baker (Glasgow/UiO): Some Calculations with TAQ
13:00 - 14:00
Departure from Thorbjørnrud
Estimated arrival time at Majorstuen

Currently registered participants: Nils A. Baas (NTNU), Andy Baker (Glasgow/UiO), Daniel Bakkelund (Telenor/UiO), Knut Berg (UiO), Marcel Bökstedt (Aarhus/UiO), Hans Brodersen (UiO), Morten Brun (UiB), Bob Bruner (Wayne State/UiO), Bjørn Ian Dundas (UiB), Halvard Fausk, Thomas Gregersen (UiO), Idar Hansen (NTNU), Bjørn Jahren (UiO), Dag Olav Kjellemo, John Klein (Wayne State), Tore August Kro (NTNU), Haaken Annfelt Moe (NTNU), John Rognes (UiO), Steffen Sagave (UiO), Christian Schlichtkrull (UiB), Martin Stolz (Bonn/UiB), Marius Thaule (NTNU) and Torleif Veen (UiB).

John Rognes, May 21st 2008